More Mandarin Resources

Been catching up on my Mandarin homework and trying to get my writing up to scratch. First task – put together some tools to capture short phrases for reading/writing exercises via worksheets. Already having done some work to capture my lecture notes via LaTeX, it seemed appropriate to knock something together with a Python/LaTeX combination.

So – the initial sketch is done and I’ve put it all on my mandarin repo at github. I’ve also copied the TeX and PDF files for anyone without a Linux setup ready to reproduce the whole workflow for themselves.

One itch left to scratch – I had to drop back to Emacs to edit this, since I’ve got the input tools set up nicely to switch via Ctrl+8/Ctrl+9 between English and Pinyin input. Works flawlessly for Emacs. However, getting Vim to play ball with it’s modal editing style is a more interesting challenge. Number of keen Vim users that have English as a native language and want to write in Chinese? Relatively few that I have found so far.

Links

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.